Minutes of the Annual Meeting
Saturday, July 15, 2017
Austin, Texas


The 2017 Annual Meeting of the Innovative Law Users Group was held at the Hilton Austin, Room 406, in Austin, Texas. Ashley Chase, ILUG Chair 2016-2017, called the meeting to order. A copy of today's agenda for the meeting was provided. First time attendees were recognized, as were grant recipients.

2017 Minutes

After reviewing the minutes from the 2016 annual meeting in Chicago, Illinois, there was a motion to approve the minutes which was seconded, and members voted to approve the minutes as presented. The minutes had previously been posted to the ILUG website.

The Chair thanked Innovative for its support of the meeting, including breakfast and speakers. Kathy Layer, treasurer, provided copies of the latest treasurer's report and announced that membership renewal may be made through the PayPal account or by check. ILUG will begin accepting membership renewals any time. Kathy expressed thanks to Martin Wisneski for all his help the past year, including keeping the website up to date. The results of the latest election for Vice-Chair/Chair-elect and Treasurer were announced: David Burch, of Loyola Los Angeles, will be the incoming Vice-Chair/Chair-elect and Kathy Layer, of Western New England, will continue on in her role as treasurer.

Passing the Gavel

Ashley expressed thanks to Ismael Gullon, past chair, for his assistance and to ILUG for the opportunity to serve as Chair. The Chair passed the gavel to Whitney Curtis, Chair-Elect. Upon completion of regular business items, a discussion ensued regarding how best to increase membership and interest in the ILUG. Suggestions included a more robust meeting at AALL, more active use of the ILUG listserv, including the possible sharing of customer service stories or information about mergers and acquisitions impacting our libraries, and a use of dues to help others participate in the meeting.

At the conclusion of the membership discussion, the following information was provided by representatives from Innovative Interfaces:

Whitney Curtis, Chair, adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted by,
Ashley Krenelka Chase