Minutes of the Annual Meeting
Saturday, July 14, 2018
Baltimore, Maryland


The 2018 Annual Meeting of the Innovative Law Users Group was held at the Baltimore, Maryland. Whitney Curtis, ILUG Chair 2017-2018, called the meeting to order. A copy of today's agenda for the meeting was provided. First time attendees were recognized, as were grant recipients.

2017 Minutes

After reviewing the minutes from the 2017 annual meeting in Austin, Texas, there was a motion to approve the minutes which was seconded, and members voted to approve the minutes as presented. The minutes had previously been posted to the ILUG website.

Treasurer's Report

Jim Mumm, incoming treasurer, presented the treasurer's report in the absence of Kathy Layer. He provided copies of the latest treasurer's report and announced that membership renewal may be made through the PayPal account or by check. ILUG will begin accepting membership renewals any time. He noted the necessity of keeping the checking account balance above $3,000 to avoid a monthly service charge.

Election Results

The results of the latest election for Vice-Chair/Chair-elect and Treasurer were announced: Julie Kimbrough, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, will be the incoming Vice-Chair/Chair-elect and James Mumm, of Marquette University Eckstein Law Library, will be the new treasurer.

Passing the Gavel

The Chair passed the gavel to David Burch, Chair-Elect. A round-table discussion began on the topic of which institutions had upgraded to Sierra and which had merged with other systems. Upon completion of regular business items, a discussion ensued regarding how best to increase membership and interest in the ILUG. Scott Matheson and Jim Mumm agreed to an ad hoc committee on membership to identify prospective and delinquent members and try to encourage their participation.

David Burch, Chair, adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted by,
James Mumm